Radiator Down

Vacation was supposed to start that night – a nice trip to Myrtle Beach. To get ready I got the tires rotated and went to get the oil changed. At the oil place the guy said to me, “Looks like we won’t be changing the oil today… come check this out.” My radiator was destroyed!

Thank God I have a friend from church who owns a mechanic shop (and who we have to visit far too often!) who assured me he could get it taken care of before we were supposed to leave. The cost? $560.

If you’ve followed this blog you know that we had to scramble to raise even the money for gas for this trip – yard sales, online sales, eBay, Craigslist, selling to friends. How on earth could we pay for this? Another blessing: my friend told me I could pay him when I got paid in nearly two weeks!

But how will I pay it? Here’s the deal: there is no way we should have had enough money to pay for this. But when I got paid there was. Yeah, things are very, very tight. But I was able to pay the mechanic and I was able to take the family on vacation (most frugal vacation ever!) How? I really don’t know. Seriously. I did the accounts again and again and when I try to tally up the math I don’t know how the ends are meeting but they are.

Thank God for making things work even when I don’t understand and even when I didn’t think He could (or would.)

Leave a Reply

