Alarm Company and NSF Bank Fees

Yesterday I got a text from my wife informing me that she had paid the alarm company because they’d called and threatened to stop monitoring. The problem was that I’d already sent the alarm company a check via my bank’s eBill pay service Monday. Worse: I spoke to the alarm company and that same rep last Saturday to verify the amount to pay and to let them know I sent it and they’d get it during this month. We were cool. Now I had two payments outstanding and could only afford one.

I called the alarm company and after some memory nudging the rep remembered that she had talked to me but had forgotten to notate my account. (Friends, never trust your account will be notated. Take notes of name, time, date, and what was discussed.)  To fix this, she promised to return the check once they got it and guaranteed they would not cash it. I went to bed resting in the knowledge that there would be no double payment to mess up my account.

That’s not how eBill pay works, though. Once the bank sends the check they charge you a few days after they mail it even if the company hadn’t received it yet. This happened. Then four NSF fees happened. When I woke up this morning I was $100 in fees and overdrawn.

As soon as the bank opened I called and explained the situation. The rep I spoke to offered to credit back three of the fees and ask about the fourth. I really was $0.08 overdrawn because of the duplicate payment so she wasn’t sure I could get the last credited.

I was called back about an hour later and informed they would credit back all four fees. $100 reversed! I’m counting this as favor from God and marking it down as one more way my Father in Heaven took care of me today!

(I’ll get the duplicate payment reversed when the alarm company mails me the check and I take it to the bank. I’m out of money, but I’ll be OK. I have someone looking out for me. Someone who cares about me.)

Leave a Reply

