Romans 6 – Are We Really Slaves to Christ?

Don’t you know that when you say to someone, “Take my life, I will follow you,” you are promising to obey that person as slaves do to their masters? You are slaves to the one whom you obey, who you follow — whether you are slaves to sin, which leads to death, or to obedience, which leads to righteousness.

Thank God that though you used to be slaves to sin, you gave your life to Jesus Christ instead of your old sinful way of life. You have been set free from sin and have become slaves to righteousness.

…Just like you used to offer yourself to sinful lusts, actions and thoughts, which lead to an ever-increasing spiral of wickedness, now decide to offer yourself in slavery to righteousness, which leads to holiness… What benefit did you reap at that time from the things you are now ashamed of? None! Those things result in death!

But now that you have been set free from sin and have decided to become slaves to God, the benefit you reap leads to holiness, and the result is eternal life. For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.

-Romans 6:16-23 (my paraphrase)

I know a lot of people know that last part by heart about wages of sin being death. We memorize it to evangelize people, to tell them about their sins. The question I have is whether or not we understand the parts of the Word that come before it.

Do we really understand that we are supposed to be slaves to Christ’s will? That we have no choice but to do what He wants us to?

Judging only myself, I would say that I do not understand what it means to be a slave to Christ. I am very much still a slave to my sinful nature.

The question is, what does that mean for my Christianity? Can I be a Christian – a follower of Christ – and still be a slave to my sins?

What do you think?

One thought on “Romans 6 – Are We Really Slaves to Christ?

Leave a Reply

